Saintsreport.com Forums
home Steve Gleasons Website
Saints Report News Saints Super Forum Everything Else Board Political Discussion Board Fantasy Football Board Tech Board SaintsReport Affiliate Merchandise Gameday Board Behind the Levee New Orleans Hornets Board Twitter Outdoor Boards Video Games Board Smack Board Music Board College Sports Board SR Live Chat Room Contribute to our site costs Become a subscribing SR member


Go Back   New Orleans Saints - Saints Report - Message Boards > GENERAL > Tech-Talk Board


reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2012, 10:20 PM   #1
Resident GoldenTee Junkie
 
Vega$$aint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 6,925
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Thread Starter
Computer won't boot

When I turn on my toshiba laptop, the toshiba title screen comes on, then it goes black with the cursor in the top left corner. Then the cursor disappears and it doesn't do anything else. Anybody know why this is doing this and how to fix it?

Thanks
__________________
Iíve gotta say what Iíve gotta say and then I swear I'll go away, but I cant promise you'll enjoy the noise.
Vega$$aint is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-15-2012, 10:31 PM   #2
Resident GoldenTee Junkie
 
Vega$$aint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 6,925
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Thread Starter
I think it has something to do with my hard drive.
__________________
Iíve gotta say what Iíve gotta say and then I swear I'll go away, but I cant promise you'll enjoy the noise.
Vega$$aint is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-15-2012, 11:25 PM   #3
Hall-of-Famer
 
Cosmic201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baton Rouge
Age: 30
Posts: 2,935
Cosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true Saint
Cosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true SaintCosmic201 is a true Saint
Your hard drive is dead. Get a new one.
Not much of a chance to recover the files I'm afraid. Hope you backed up regularly.
Cosmic201 is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-15-2012, 11:39 PM   #4
Resident GoldenTee Junkie
 
Vega$$aint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 6,925
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Thread Starter
if i buy any hard drive that fits, it will be loaded up with windows 7 and be ready to go after i install it?
__________________
Iíve gotta say what Iíve gotta say and then I swear I'll go away, but I cant promise you'll enjoy the noise.
Vega$$aint is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-15-2012, 11:44 PM   #5
ALL-MADDEN TEAM
 
nealkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 31
Posts: 2,309
nealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to all
nealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to all
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vega$$aint View Post
if i buy any hard drive that fits, it will be loaded up with windows 7 and be ready to go after i install it?
Youll have to install the hd and then install windows onto the hd. Depending on how much space you need you might want to consider a ssd.
nealkm is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-16-2012, 12:08 AM   #6
Resident GoldenTee Junkie
 
Vega$$aint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 6,925
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Thread Starter
i really am pretty dumb with this. I am looking on new egg for a replacement hard drive and I know how to install it into my laptop. do I need a window's disc or will i be prompted when i restart the computer? I don't think a window's disc came with my laptop.

Thanks for the help guys.
__________________
Iíve gotta say what Iíve gotta say and then I swear I'll go away, but I cant promise you'll enjoy the noise.
Vega$$aint is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-16-2012, 07:51 AM   #7
ALL-MADDEN TEAM
 
nealkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 31
Posts: 2,309
nealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to all
nealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to allnealkm is a name known to all
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vega$$aint View Post
i really am pretty dumb with this. I am looking on new egg for a replacement hard drive and I know how to install it into my laptop. do I need a window's disc or will i be prompted when i restart the computer? I don't think a window's disc came with my laptop.

Thanks for the help guys.
You will just need to put the disc into your cd drive at boot up and it will boot from disc. If it doesnt you might have to enter your bios and change the boot priority but i really doubt youll have to so this.

Make sure you get a 2.5" form factor drive since youre on a laptop. As suggested before you could consider a solid state drive as they are much faster, but they are still pricey per gb. Most people will just use them to load the OS on and then keep music and movies on another mechanical hard drive. Mechanical hard drives are still priced high because of flooding in Thailand.

You should have a winows oem disc that came with your laptop. If you dont you might have to buy Windows or try an alternative OS. If you are up for a risk you could download winows 8 consumer preview and run it for a while until windows 8 comes out in the fall, but i probably wouldnt advise this as support might be limited for a preview release.
nealkm is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-16-2012, 07:57 AM   #8
party lamp

 
buzd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Section 537
Age: 43
Posts: 25,571
buzd Prestigious Gold Club Memberbuzd Prestigious Gold Club Member
buzd Prestigious Gold Club Memberbuzd Prestigious Gold Club Memberbuzd Prestigious Gold Club Memberbuzd Prestigious Gold Club Memberbuzd Prestigious Gold Club Memberbuzd Prestigious Gold Club Memberbuzd Prestigious Gold Club Member
Another option would be to call you laptop manufacturer and purchase a recovery CD/DVD (probably $20-30).

Also, if you had anything super-important on that hard drive, there are some things you can do to try to recover them, but you will have to jump through some hoops (as well as have access to another computer, or your laptop once it's rebuilt).
__________________
QED, just sayin'
buzd is offline Reply With Quote


1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-16-2012, 09:13 AM   #9
NO MA'AM
 
zeetes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: yellow brick road
Age: 36
Posts: 8,652
zeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Member
zeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Memberzeetes Prestigious Gold Club Member
most likely it's the hard drive that's dead, but i've seen it happen (blinking cursor) on older operating systems too (windows xp) with a bad boot file (bootmgr etc, though usually this will produce an error). either way, the corrupted files are usually due to a failing hard drive or hd control board, so it's probably not worth troubleshooting in the long run.
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzd View Post
Another option would be to call you laptop manufacturer and purchase a recovery CD/DVD (probably $20-30).

Also, if you had anything super-important on that hard drive, there are some things you can do to try to recover them, but you will have to jump through some hoops (as well as have access to another computer, or your laptop once it's rebuilt).
yep.
zeetes is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-16-2012, 09:21 AM   #10
Resident GoldenTee Junkie
 
Vega$$aint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 6,925
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Thread Starter
Thanks guys for the info, I didn't have anything important on my hard drive except for my music, but everything I had is on my ipod and I can just upload it from that. Everything else I have on my external hard drive.

eric
__________________
Iíve gotta say what Iíve gotta say and then I swear I'll go away, but I cant promise you'll enjoy the noise.
Vega$$aint is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-16-2012, 09:08 PM   #11
Practice Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lafayette
Age: 53
Posts: 24
bernnjulie is on a distinguished roadbernnjulie is on a distinguished road
when you boot the laptop, can you get to the bios? Press ESC or DEL or F2 to get to the bios--which key you press depends on the model, try 'em all if you're not sure. You should be able to see if the bios detects your hard drive. Also, i've seen PC's do this sometimes if you have an external USB drive plugged in when you boot.
bernnjulie is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-18-2012, 11:34 AM   #12
Burrrrrrrsitis!
 
Saint77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Age: 46
Posts: 12,008
Saint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of Famer
Saint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of FamerSaint77 is a future SR.com Hall of Famer
You can test that drive by downloading the Ultimate Boot CD. Boot to it, and navigate to the hard disk test section, find your drive make, and run the test.

If you have to buy a drive, and you can afford spending some extra cash, now is a good time to upgrade it. A lot of laptops come with 5400 RPM drives to keep the heat down, get a 7200 RPM drive if you can and get one with the largest Cache size you can get.

Most makers offer a link to buy recovery media on that models download page on thier site. its much cheaper usually then buying a full new copy of windows. but that's your choice.
__________________
"You know, the only trouble with capitalism is capitalists. They're too damn greedy." Herbert Hoover
"Don't project. Don't connect. Protect. Don't expect. Suggest."
"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?"
Saint77 is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-18-2012, 11:55 AM   #13
Resident GoldenTee Junkie
 
Vega$$aint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 6,925
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Thread Starter
thanks the one i have is 7200 and 500 Gig, I ordered the same size and speed from new egg for 90 bucks.
__________________
Iíve gotta say what Iíve gotta say and then I swear I'll go away, but I cant promise you'll enjoy the noise.
Vega$$aint is offline Reply With Quote


Old 03-18-2012, 08:29 PM   #14
Resident GoldenTee Junkie
 
Vega$$aint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 6,925
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Vega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true SaintVega$$aint is a true Saint
Thread Starter
Ok it looks like my computer didn't come with a disc for windows. Do I have to go buy windows 7 our is there another way of getting a recovery disc and register key.
__________________
Iíve gotta say what Iíve gotta say and then I swear I'll go away, but I cant promise you'll enjoy the noise.
Vega$$aint is offline Reply With Quote



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.



Saintsreport.com - New Orleans Saints News, Info & Community! All marks, logos and images related to the Saints are the property of the New Orleans Saints, the NFL and NFL Properties. We are in no way affiliated with the New Orleans Saints or the NFL. All commentary and original artwork, ©1997-2014 SaintsReport.com, owned and operated by Andrus Whitewing, DBA Saints Report,LLC. All rights reserved. Copying of original columns prohibited without a return link and credit given. Teasing articles is ok.



Some of the Photos and pictures used throughout the site are copyright © Michael C. Hebert and are used with the permission of Michael C. Hebert and the New Orleans Saints.




Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0