Am I missing something on that Panthers-Skins muffed punt? (1 Viewer)

BoNcHiE

Every team's Elixor
Joined
Dec 16, 2004
Messages
57,751
Reaction score
73,297
Offline
I saw it live on the redzone channel. They replayed it several times.

The Panthers gunner clearly grabbed, held, drove, and threw the redskins blocker back into the return man to cause the muff. How was that not a penalty?

It was the most obvious hold I've ever seen. Am I missing something?
 

NCSaint

Guest
Offline
This is the (IMHO) lame excuse of how they saw it unfold.


Referee Walt Coleman explains the punt-fumble call: "What happened was, the two guys were blocking each other. The Washington guy got blocked into his own man, so there was no interference. All we had to figure out who touched it first. If the Washington player is stationary and just standing there and not trying to block, then he can't do that. If they are both trying to block, then he can knock him into him. Because they were both engaged, then that's why there wasn't a foul or anything wrong with that play. If the Washington player is stationary and just standing there and the Carolina player had come down there and knocked him, then it would have been totally different."

http://voices.washingtonpost.com/red...edskinsinsider
 
Last edited by a moderator:
OP
BoNcHiE

BoNcHiE

Every team's Elixor
Joined
Dec 16, 2004
Messages
57,751
Reaction score
73,297
Offline
I think that's BS.

Anyone got a replay of it? I'm positive the guy had a big chunk of jersey, practically picking the guy up, in order to drive him back and you can't do that.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users who are viewing this thread

 

New Orleans Saints Twitter Feed

 

Headlines

Top Bottom