- Jul 30, 1999
- Reaction score
How is that not a catch???? Hope everyone had a fun year and our Saints Faithful have a great 2017...See you next season!
If he was in the field of play, that's a catch. He maintained possession, even when the ball shifted it was still pressed firmly against him. The point is, to every fan watching that play, they think it's a catch because no time did he drop the ball or really loose control of it. Seriously, the rule needs to change.are rules that hard to understand?
It's clear as day. You must maintain control TO THE GROUND. The ball was coming loose as he went to the ground.
Hate on the rule all you want, but by rule that was clearly a no TD.
The thing is, all year we hear that all a guy has to do is break the plane of goalline with possession. We've seen it on TD's where a player reaches over the GL and the ball gets knocked out but it's a TD rather than a fumble because he breaks the plane. Following that logic Fleener caught the ball, had possession with two feet in bounds in the endzone and it should be a TD. Now, as he fell out of bounds he let the ball slip to his wrist but he has already established possession in the endzone at that point for one, for another, the ball never hit the ground. For me that's catch and a TD. No idea how the refs saw it any differently but it's something that's been happening to us all season and I'm sick of it. I hope next year is better but I won't be holding my breath.I agree, this is the kind of **** that makes it hard to keep watching.
The rule is the rule, but in this case it's almost bewildering why it's the rule. If Fleener had caught the ball against his wrist and held it there it would be a catch. But because it slipped from the first location to the wrist, now it's the equivalent of a drop? Simply doesn't correspond to any common sense understanding of what a catch should be. Of course this is far from the first time we've seen something like that.