Any underwater welders in here? (1 Viewer)

NCSaint

My son is considering this as an occupation. I like the idea - just wondering if anyone can give any real advice on pros/cons? He is a rising Sr. in Highschool.

Thanks,

NCSaint

so he wants to do diving? Hell he will make a lot of money but doing it hurts your body. I was a project manager for a diving company in houma, I can help u with it.

Hey I really appreciate the quick feedback. I will PM you.

A friend of mine did that for about 10 years in the Cayman Islands. He loved it and made a small fortune.
He lived a great life at the time. I should have done that.

I have a friend who is a underwater commercial diver. He received all his training from the Navy and then spent 15 years working offshore. Now he strictly works inshore because there are women around; he is one crazy guy. Lots of money to be made.

Well, it is an inherently dangerous occupation but there's lots of money to be made. One could argue that the need for underwater welders will diminish as drilling goes farther into the deepwater but I don't know if that's true. There will still be a lot of decommissioning work coming up and there might be a lot more shelf production if they lift the drilling moratorium.

I would not want my son to do it just because it necessarily is in very hazardous conditions. Three things would be an absolute must -- first, working for a top notch company that is committed to safety and is very meticulous about their equipment. And, second, your son personally needs to be a very meticulous person who isn't prone to taking shortcuts. And, finally, your son needs to have a personality where he is comfortable telling someone, "no, I'm not doing that under these conditions".

If any of the above three are missing, it'll be like playing Russian roulette.