Anyone here Fish the Rigolets / Lake Borgne / Lake Catherine area? (1 Viewer)

Infoman

You're a Towel!
Reaction score
I am new to fishing this area, and I have no clue...

I have fished the lower Lafitte area my whole life, and since moving to the Northshore a few years ago, I haven't had the type of boat needed to do any real fishing here.

I do now! ... but have no clue where to launch, what to fish for, where to fish them, or how to fish for them...

I'd like to take a trip tomorrow and do some exploring and fishing, (maybe a few reds would be nice)... just not sure what areas to stay away from or where to start... (I am told the Rigolets is where I need to go right now - but don't know jack about the area)

I'm sure I can find a spot or 2 and maybe get lucky... just don't want to end up on a sand bar or hitting an oyster reef trying to do so in my new boat (Oof)....

Any suggestions for this weekend with any detail would be greatly appreciated.... just me and my old dad looking to spend some time together on the water... any fish in the boat is a bonus.

PM me if you feel a certain kind of way about answering this on a public forum (LOL)

Thanks in advance.

so its been a minute since ive been, but in the fall, we would always shoot across lake borgne to fish the SE coast line or Grand Island then work back and catch the train trestles on a falling or rising tide. ( keep in mind its about a 35-45 min boat ride to get to )

less travel time- The other spot was the gate at intracoastal. They have a hole about 15 ft deep just to the left ( as you approach gate ) that will hold fish in the winter too.

keep looking at reports on RodnReel.com

as for sand bars, oyster beds...dont recall any. you can get hung up in little cuts if tide falling so just pay attention to that ( but you know that already ) . There are pleny of cuts off the Rigolets/Intracoastal -