can someone explain to me why that was an illegal touch?? (1 Viewer)

sidwin

Veteran Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
635
Reaction score
861
Offline
in the beginning of the game morestead punt and the ball went to the 5 yard line and we picked up the ball and that drew a penalty. can someone explain that to me? I always thought that was the goal was to run down the field and down the ball.

Thanks,
Sid
 

dapperdan

Super Forum Fanatic
Joined
Jul 29, 1998
Messages
11,564
Reaction score
7,856
Age
58
Location
Juanita Beach, WA
Offline
If a gunner steps out of bounds during the play at all he CANNOT be the first person on the field to touch a kicked ball.
 
OP

sidwin

Veteran Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
635
Reaction score
861
Offline
If a gunner steps out of bounds during the play at all he CANNOT be the first person on the field to touch a kicked ball.

ok... didn't know that he stepped out... so in theory he could have just left the ball there and we would have had them stuck on the 5.
 

bobad

Son of Adam
VIP Contributor
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
25,172
Reaction score
17,988
Location
Saints Country
Offline
A Steeler kicked the ball, it was recovered by the Saints. Where was the red flag?
 

JRead2

Hades is frozen.
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
5,680
Reaction score
3,610
Location
Saints Fan Lane
Offline
I was at the game, and could not figure out why the ball wasn't placed inside the 5. The referee said nothing about the player stepping out of bounds. Granted, it was pretty loud at that time, but the referee said something about the player touching the ball inside the 5. I was trying to figure out what type of (stupid) new rule they had come up with.
 

BoNcHiE

Every team's Elixor
Joined
Dec 16, 2004
Messages
57,557
Reaction score
72,391
Offline
Given it hit the Steeler's player first, who's ball would it of been since our guy who touched it first was ineligible and there was no clear recovery?
 

SoggyBottomBoy

I'm with you fellers.
Staff member
Administrator
Diamond VIP Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2002
Messages
16,548
Reaction score
16,019
Location
Carencro, LA
Online
Given it hit the Steeler's player first, who's ball would it of been since our guy who touched it first was ineligible and there was no clear recovery?

Wouldn't that make the Steeler the first to touch the ball and the gunner is now eligible to recover the fumble?
 

stadanko

I'm inside the computer.
VIP Contributor
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
2,743
Reaction score
5,251
Location
Austin, TX
Online
Wouldn't that make the Steeler the first to touch the ball and the gunner is now eligible to recover the fumble?

Yes. If they had reviewed and seen the ball hit the returner first it would have been our ball inside the 5.
 

insidejob

Respect existence or expect resistance.
Approved Blogger
Joined
Feb 3, 2010
Messages
32,322
Reaction score
54,004
Location
Back in 70124
Offline
Wouldn't that make the Steeler the first to touch the ball and the gunner is now eligible to recover the fumble?

I was screaming my head off in the stands to challenge the play. It happened right in front of me and I surely thought that it touched a Steeler before we recovered it.
 

seagull

2010 World Champions
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
1,998
Reaction score
763
Offline
Hit Steeler's shin first and there for Saint player was not first to touch after going out of bounds, also should have been Saints ball.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
11,991
Reaction score
15,862
Location
Hammond
Offline
Yea when the ref only said illegal touching and didn't mention the player stepping out of bounds, I thought there was a new rule where you couldn't down a punt if the ball was inside the 5 yard line. I was about to quit the NFL :hihi:
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users who are viewing this thread

 

New Orleans Saints Twitter Feed

 

Headlines

Top Bottom