Chicago gets it's 500th homicide in 9 months... (1 Viewer)

You legalize drugs, you all but eliminate gangs because you eliminate the gangs income which eliminates their ability to recruit because all incentive is lost. It's pretty simple.

I'm far from an expert but gangs don't exsist because of drugs and money isn't the rational behind gangs from what I've read and seen on documentaries etc - not talking about tv shows and movies - gangs often times are the social/family connections kids have when strong families or strong single parents don't exist - often times the breakdowns in parents, even single parents are their own drug use and alcohol - legalization green lights that activity and that's across all economic, racial lines - sometimes it's just preoccupied parenting that allows kids to take the wrong path

While you may see some reduction in drug legalization you will also see other issues - most people don't buy drugs from "gangs" , gang violence can come from "drug turf" but also just from "turf" or who one is affiliated with

While you are correct there is money in illegal drug sales , the idea that legalization will end the gang attraction and lead those affiliated to legal jobs etc is unlikely IMO - if you removed the violent mindset and left illegal drug sales you would probably have a better affect , the mindset is the challenge, there are illegal drug dealers in all walks of life , some probably closer to your home than you would think , just the violence isn't there because the mindset isn't there