eCommerce website advice..... (1 Viewer)

bc

Rookie
Reaction score
Can someone with web design and/or ecommerce experience give me some advice for an online store. I'm more confused now than ever before. These are the options that I am dealing with:

1. have someone host, build and create shopping cart
2. get my host company to create a zencart site for me and use paypal
3. use my already created site with windows hosting, but I don't know how to add merchandise or change the site effectively (perhaps a big waste of $$)

can anybody help?

I'm an amateur at this but check www.oscommerce.com.

A hosting service referred me to them but I was needing more than a shopping cart site. It did look like they had an easy to use admin back end though.

From my experience, I would use one of these templates services to get started and then have a custom designed site yourself if everything is going good and you need something better. The problems I am running into is with webdesigners themselves. Its hard to find good ones who will be around and if they are not its hard to find another person who will work with their coding.

Once they get in they kinda get you by the *..*. I had programmers say it would be cheaper for them to build a whole new site than to study the current code. I always reply back to them, "so you can disapear and I'll have the same problem next time ... no thanks."

Last edited:
thanks tex, the problem is i paid a programmer to build a site for me as long as it met my specs--one of which being that it would be easy to edit the site and upload merchandise. when he uploaded the site to the server, lo and behold I find that I can only edit html...not to mention it took him 3 1/2 mos. to get to where we are now.

with the zencart and oscommerce it seems that i need a fair amount of php know how and the installation guides still leave me needing additional help.