ESPN Spinning in Goodells Favor Again: 39% approve of Goodell (1 Viewer)

It's an approval rating, you don't show the disapprove % in an APPROVAL RATING.

To me saying 39% of players approve of Goodell does just as much damage as saying 61% disapprove. 39% of anything "good" is horrible.

I guess being a Journalist myself, the Title of the article is everything. There is a huge difference in saying "39% approve of the current commissioner" and "61% disapprove".

Thats a journalism technique, because you arent paying attention to the number, but the words "approve of Goodell" whereas if you were wanting the negative attention, you would say "ONLY 39%", or something to that effect.

You're right, when it comes to Goodell, I will NEVER be satisfied.

It's tactics like this that make people skeptical of the news to begin with. I'm incredibly cynical because of stuff like this, so saying "39% approve" automatically makes me calculate the difference.

Sadly, I don't think the majority of people care to do this or to pay attention to the nuance inherent in our language and how it's used to change the vector of a dialog without changing the facts.

It's an approval rating, you don't show the disapprove % in an APPROVAL RATING.

To me saying 39% of players approve of Goodell does just as much damage as saying 61% disapprove. 39% of anything "good" is horrible.

Then again, if the question was "do you approve of X" and 39% say yes, it doesn't automatically mean that 61% disapprove - just that 61% don't approve. It's splitting hairs, but there is a difference...some can be indifferent without approving.

Have to agree that this is a bit of a reach. NOT reporting this at all would have shown bias and being protective of RG.