Ever just been amazed at young talent (1 Viewer)

Goatman Saint

Subscribing Member
Platinum VIP Contributor
Reaction score
I’m a teacher. I was chosen to have an observer in my class. In California, kids entering a teaching program have to do hours of observation. I’m one of her last ones. Anyway, she comes in and I could just tell there’s something different about this kid. So instead of just observing, I have her start working with kids as they are working and getting the kids ready in line and such. I was stunned at how she did. So we just got this new math stuff which all revolves around reasoning, convincing and justifying your answers as there are really no “correct” answers. First lesson was set up clearly in the book so I’m like here, you’re going to teach this, figure out how you’re going to do it. Our math coach came in thinking I was going to do it. Nope, I said watch this. Together we have 50 years worth of experience, and our jaws are almost on the floor. Here’s this little 20 year old girl who has calluses on her hands from manual labor in the fields and packing houses (horrible home life and beyond dirt poor) just blowing us away. So this week I’ve been having her do some team teaching and such with me. In 24 years of teaching I’ve only ever seen 2 people who come close to this kid. I’m not easy to impress, but damn this kid is gifted. I’ve never been so excited to work with someone in my life.