FAQ Explanation on how to use new features...+ added features **Report site issues here!** (1 Viewer)

St.Fury

Staff member
Administrator
VIP Subscribing Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
21,526
Reaction score
22,291
Age
37
Location
Houma, La.
Offline
Sticky Post
Here are some explanations on how to use some of the new site features (Note - We will be adding to this thread as we go).

I’m going to update this thread as I’m able to get screenshots and type out explanations for you guys.

1. Jumping to the most recent posts of a thread.

There’s multiple ways to do this. Option one is to simply tap the time stamp to the right (via computer or tablet) of the thread title.
80BDBF5A-03B0-467C-B72F-188087564992.jpeg

On mobile, it will likely be just below the thread title.
80BDBF5A-03B0-467C-B72F-188087564992.jpeg

You can also jump to the last post by opening a thread and selecting “jump to new” near the top of the page.
EDA502D6-769B-433B-8BB1-A68D80C6E49C.jpeg
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

Andrus

Owner/Webmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
33,275
Reaction score
22,253
Age
59
Location
Sunset, La
Online
It's happened on two different PCs/laptops. Nothing special like an iDevice or mac. Using Microsoft Edge on one and IE on the other. I originally thought it was due to high traffic as I couldn't post for hours right after the game. But the same thing happened Monday morning. Now, it's fine.

I also noticed that clicking on "Show Ignored Content" seems to trigger it at odd times. if I'm in a thread and want to see if someone else has already posted what I'm about to say, I click Show Ignored Content and here we go. Page freezes, I refresh and I'm logged out. Now, that's not ALWAYS the trigger. Sometimes it happens on its own. But that's just one of the scenarios that causes it to spazz out sometimes.

No matter how many times you log back in, you can't take any action without being logged out. If you go to the next page, it will log you out. If you click reply or preview or try to like something, it will say you have to be logged in to do that. Even if you can see you're logged in right before clicking whatever it is you clicked. It's as if it logs you in, but immediately kicks you out.

Kizzy... I had put in a support ticket with our hosting solution when we couldn't identify the issue on the webserver side. His response was:

Here is the response that I received from the NOC:

Hey Andrus,

This issue appears to be isolated to safari browsers as I am unable to recreate the issue inside of chrome or firefox, but we do not have safari on our workstations so I cannot guarantee that.

Could you make sure that those using safari have cookies enabled?

Thank you!
DJ W.

Technical Support Operator :
I sent him back a copy of your post to alert him that the issue is across other platforms, but random. The random part is what is making this so tough to figure out. Will let you know what we are able to figure out.
 

rajncajn

Lurker Extrodinaire
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
3,219
Reaction score
3,020
Age
47
Location
Ocean Springs, Ms
Offline
How do you get the quick reply box to clear if you decide not to submit a reply?

Anytime I click to reply to someone in a thread and I end up changing my mind I can never get their quote or what auto saved from what I'd typed out of the quick reply box. Every time I go out of the thread and come back it's there & even when I click to quote someone else I have to back out what was auto saved.
 

Chris

Super Forum Fanatic
VIP Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Messages
8,630
Reaction score
7,979
Offline
How do you get the quick reply box to clear if you decide not to submit a reply?

Anytime I click to reply to someone in a thread and I end up changing my mind I can never get their quote or what auto saved from what I'd typed out of the quick reply box. Every time I go out of the thread and come back it's there & even when I click to quote someone else I have to back out what was auto saved.
This is called a "draft". I believe this forum is set to automatically save drafts (the text you type) once per minute. If you look at the icons on the editor toolbar, you should see an icon that looks like a floppy disk. This is where you can manually Save or Delete a draft. After about a minute, a green dot will briefly appear next to the icon which indicates that the draft you created was auto-saved. You can use the icon to manually delete the draft, after which you can refresh the page to clear the textbox.

1537575147442.png
 
Last edited:

Oye

shopgirl's metaphysic
VIP Contributor
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
20,758
Reaction score
32,661
Location
Lebronto
Offline
All of my old PMs got moved over here, and they count toward the limit. Xenforo doesn't seem to allow you to 'delete' a PM like the old system did. You have to "leave" the conversation, but the conversation isn't deleted unless all members "Leave" - for PMs where people no longer post here, those conversations aren't deleted - they can't be. But they count toward the cap.

So, I have notifications regarding PMs that people cannot receive PMs from me and I get an error that says I have hit the limit of conversations.

Seems we need a way to be able to delete those PMs
 

Andrus

Owner/Webmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
33,275
Reaction score
22,253
Age
59
Location
Sunset, La
Online
All of my old PMs got moved over here, and they count toward the limit. Xenforo doesn't seem to allow you to 'delete' a PM like the old system did. You have to "leave" the conversation, but the conversation isn't deleted unless all members "Leave" - for PMs where people no longer post here, those conversations aren't deleted - they can't be. But they count toward the cap.

So, I have notifications regarding PMs that people cannot receive PMs from me and I get an error that says I have hit the limit of conversations.

Seems we need a way to be able to delete those PMs
Same as Oye. Here's what I am seeing.

Conversation.JPG
Limits.JPG

My apologies.... I have been working on making improvements to the PM/Conversation feature. It is a work in progress. Those errors should no longer be showing up.
 

DadsDream

We Wuz Robbed!
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Messages
40,182
Reaction score
4,549
Location
Hancock County
Offline
My apologies.... I have been working on making improvements to the PM/Conversation feature. It is a work in progress. Those errors should no longer be showing up.
We're good! Thanks. Takes me back . . . I spent a few years as a website tester for the USDA while at band camp. :hihi:
 

billinms

Tiptoeing Through the Tulips
Staff member
Super Moderator
VIP Subscribing Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
19,652
Reaction score
24,588
Age
46
Location
Ocean Springs
Offline
Only see it when viewing on my phone
(Samsung S8 active) dont see it when I'm on my laptop. It doesnt hurt anything but it was unusual so I asked.
I'm getting the same thing. I assumed it was showing if members were on or off line.
 
OP
OP
St.Fury

St.Fury

Staff member
Administrator
VIP Subscribing Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
21,526
Reaction score
22,291
Age
37
Location
Houma, La.
Offline
Only see it when viewing on my phone
(Samsung S8 active) dont see it when I'm on my laptop. It doesnt hurt anything but it was unusual so I asked.
I'm on my S8 right now. And I see it. I guess I just never noticed it before.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)




Saints Headlines (The Advocate)

Headlines

Top Bottom