For the Divorced Dads - claiming the kids as the non-custodial parent on YOUR tax return (1 Viewer)

Good luck. I paid the majority of my kids support and never rec'd the tax deduction. Never...not once.

Same here.

You get screwed being a divorced man in this country. You pay child support, alimony, cant claim a percentage, nothing. Just get used to it and wait for the 18th birthday.

Or just file your taxes first and she has to go through all holy hell to try and get it to where she can claim the kids on her taxes. ANd based on what you are saying, it will cost her a lot more money to fight it.

Good luck. I paid the majority of my kids support and never rec'd the tax deduction. Never...not once.

Ditto. I am getting the college deductions though - but I am paying for that too.

I am a tax professional and deal with this all the time. There is nothing unethical or illegal about claiming your own children. If you are the parent, you do not need to pay over 50%, nor even have custody of the children, as long as both parents agree.

There are certain criteria for claiming children. Among these are:

Residency. Where did the child live for the majority of the year. Whoever has the child for 50% + 1 day has the residency criteria.

Support. Who provided the majority of the support for the child.

The main issue here would be if Earned Income Tax Credit is applicable. From your description, it may be that your ex- has little earned income and would therefore qualify. If you owe $5,000 in taxes without the children, your income may be too great for EITC.

If in your divorce decree there is a stipulation that either of you can alternate years in claiming the children, she would have to go by the decree. Otherwise, the residency and support criteria could override your claim and she would get the credit.

Under today's strigent IRS requirements, even a divorce decree requires that the parent claiming the children must submit an IRS Form 8332,