Garden question (1 Viewer)

taygolf

Hall-of-Famer
Reaction score
ok Guys as some of you know I am in my second year of gardening. Last year went well but I want to do better this year. The Squash died after just a a little while. Guessing because of lack of water the week I was out of town. Banana peppers produced more than i could eat. japs were great but could have produced more. cayenne did well too. The tomatoes did well but they did not get very big. I will have to watch the suckers better this year I guess.

Ok so I doubled the size of the garden to give more room although I think I simply filled it with more stuff. planting all of the above as well as corn. swet onion, and cucumber.

My main question is this. I know th put cages around the tomatoes and the cucumbers but do I need to stake or put cages around the pepper plants or just leave them alone?

Any advice for the squash?

Any advice for the peppers and how often to water them or get them to produce more?

Anyone ever done cucumbers or onion. any tricks?

Thanks

T

I've had success with green onion. They came right up from seed.

My bell pepper plants already have fruit on them. I don't think it's necessary to stake them unless the weight of the fruit is too much.

I water every morning in the Louisiana heat. Sometimes twice a day in the heat of summer, but I have to use pots instead of planting in the ground. Once it gets really hot though, I would still water every AM.

To get more peppers, use epsom salt (magnesium sulfate). Put about a handful around the plants every few weeks. This will keep the flowers from falling off before they bear fruit. It works for tomatoes, eggplant, and beans, too. Also, if you fertilize, make sure you use a fertilizer that is balanced (i.e. 8-8-8). If you use too much nitrogen (the first number) then you will get a beautiful plant with not much fruit.