Hand Sanitizer prices (1 Viewer)

egautr1

ALL-MADDEN TEAM
Reaction score
So I am a teacher and was looking to buy some supplies for my classroom and so I went on Amazon to buy some hand sanitizer as I am almost out. So I go look at them and most are unavailable or super over-priced.
So I did a quick google search and came across articles like the one below explaining the price gouging that is going on from 3rd party sellers.

In the article it mentioned this:
A check of the website on Tuesday evening revealed several listings averaging around $40 for an eight-ounce bottle of Purell, over ten times the typical price. One listing offered a case of 12 one-ounce bottles for $3,892.84, which equals just over $324 per ounce.

This is ridiculous!! How is this not price gouging? as I thought that was illegal? Maybe some of the legal minds on here can explain how they are able to do this in times of emergencies.
I haven't looked but I read it is the same for the medical Masks and disinfectants.

So this is precisely what I was worried about with the spread of this virus. I am not so scared of the virus itself, I am more scared or worried about the actions of dumb and over-reacting people causing a panic on things like this. I fear this might just be the beginning. Is it only a matter of time before this spreads to other basic necessities like toilet paper (which I heard is already in short supply), bottle water, food, etc.

I don't trust the general populace in this country to do what's right for others and to think about people other than themselves. Anybody else feel this way?? SMH....

So I am a teacher and was looking to buy some supplies for my classroom and so I went on Amazon to buy some hand sanitizer as I am almost out. So I go look at them and most are unavailable or super over-priced.
So I did a quick google search and came across articles like the one below explaining the price gouging that is going on from 3rd party sellers.