home theater type pc (1 Viewer)

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,893
Reaction score
3,553
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
Im looking to get my pc setup to play some files that are not supported by the 360 or ps3. I am looking at getting a hdmi out video card and a optical output card of some sort. I want whatever is going to be easy to use as I have a hdmi switch and a optical switch not far away from the pc and I will just plug them in when needed. Im not interested in recording content, or playing anything but a couple of different files like mkv without having to transcode which takes forever with a hd file. so far i found this video card:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122038

and these cards

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829118105

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829118107

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829270004



Im not looking to spend alot of money, basically just want something to watch high def videos and such from my pc to my tv, and something that I can just plug and play. appreciate the help. Im normally good at this stuff and research it myself but I dont want to waste any money.
 

Severum

10001110101
Staff member
Administrator
Tech-Admin
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
10,585
Reaction score
9,116
Age
40
Location
Bellingham, WA
Offline
The C-Media based Riviera paired with drivers from here is probably a safe choice. I don't have any experience with it (Chaintech AV-710 handles my spdif duties), but it's a popular chipset.

I haven't researched video cards recently, so the usual avsforum rec is the best I can do. I use a 7600GT with a DVI to HDMI cable.
 

inetnawlins

SAVE NOLA
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
3,279
Reaction score
1,168
Location
Wherever I go, I'm there.
Offline
Apple TV has a HDMI hook-in. You may need to put your videos into itunes on your PC or Mac to stream them. Can be connected physically or wirelessly if you have a network. Also streams your photos, and music.
 
OP
OP
diat150

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,893
Reaction score
3,553
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
Im not interested in apple. mostly just want to play the mkv container files without having to spend 2 days transcoding. I wish they would just put the codec in the 360 or the ps3.
 
OP
OP
diat150

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,893
Reaction score
3,553
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
I was able to secure a dvi to hdmi cable today. got it working and it works great. I was surprised how good the netflix watch instantly movies looked. I didnt even change video cards, the dvi was open on mine and I got some ati software that allows me to save profiles so it is just a 1 click thing to switch back and forth. now Im waiting on a additional 2 gigs of memory and a sound card.
 

Oye

existential poststructuralist
VIP Contributor
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
23,146
Reaction score
38,544
Location
the hyperreal
Offline
I was able to secure a dvi to hdmi cable today. got it working and it works great. I was surprised how good the netflix watch instantly movies looked. I didnt even change video cards, the dvi was open on mine and I got some ati software that allows me to save profiles so it is just a 1 click thing to switch back and forth. now Im waiting on a additional 2 gigs of memory and a sound card.
how many gigs do you have now?

Keep in mind that the more RAM you get, the more unstable your rig could become. Both people I know who have moved from 2GB to 4GB RAM had to scale back, one to 3 and the other to 2 before the system became stable again.

They had problems with RAM that was not certified for the modules on their motherboard. At 2 GB, that's usually not a problem because there's not a full load on the chipset.

I also just read that the RAM might not be recognized properly by the motherboards which means you might have to go into the BIOS and configure the timings.

Not saying it won't go smoothly - just a heads up in case you pop in the extra 2GB and find that you're not getting the performance boost you'd expect or the system locks up or shuts down or something wonky.
 
OP
OP
diat150

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,893
Reaction score
3,553
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
Im going from 1g to 3g. thanks for the heads up, I will keep that in mind. it is supposed to be compatible though.
 

buzd

party lamp
Staff member
Tech-Admin
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
31,085
Reaction score
23,433
Age
48
Location
Section 537
Offline
32 bit Vista maxes out at 4GB, and you have to subtract your video memory from that, because it uses the same address space.
 

Leastbay

Hall-of-Famer
Joined
Aug 24, 2006
Messages
4,409
Reaction score
974
Age
40
Location
Metairie
Offline
Im going from 1g to 3g. thanks for the heads up, I will keep that in mind. it is supposed to be compatible though.
some memory and motherboards only work well in pairs also, Ive had success with 2x1gb and 2x512mb sticks, 3x1gb might be a problem and might force your motherboard to run the memory at single data rate
 

SaintsfaninJapan

Practice Squad
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
Offline
I'm about to build one myself, along with an unRaid server. I'm going to use a powercolor hd 3850 512mb card for video. I've used a version of an HTPC for about 2 years but I've decided this time around to build a dedicated one in an HTPC case with a remote. For now I'm going to try and use vista ultimate's media center for my front end with some plug-in software for the media library.
 
OP
OP
diat150

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,893
Reaction score
3,553
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
Im happy with what I have so far. my tv also has a composite audio on the same input on the hdmi so I can go that route with the audio, and I also have a usb optical audio deivce that is on its way, not sure how that will work but I am cool with just the composite audio on the tv if it doesnt. basically just a matter of hooking up 2 wires and clicking twice and everything is on.
 
OP
OP
diat150

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,893
Reaction score
3,553
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
just got in the new ram and also the usb optical output. everything works excellent. adding a home theater pc really is a great addition to your living room. if you have netflix you can watch alot of movies and if you want to take a chance downloading high def videos off of torrents it works great. like this I dont have to worry about the 360 or the ps3 adding support for files.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



Headlines

Top Bottom