Kool-Aid McKinstry Can he play safety? (3 Viewers)

ELLIASJWILLIAMS

More than 15K posts served!
VIP Contributor
Reaction score
I brought it up on game day when I noticed his foot speed was less than stellar for a boundary DB, but it’s been mentioned twice now.

Tyrann Mathieu mentioned it to a degree

"Man, he's so polished. I always respect that because a lot of people think I'm a flashy player, but I'm really a technician. So I always relied on my coaches to kind of give me that stuff and then I just put my own sauce on it. I say that to say that he's a polished player. He comes from under Nick Saban, so I already know that he understands the cornerback position, nickel position and the safety position.

And Underhill just mentioned it as well

McKinstry is one of the more interesting players on the roster because he was brought here to play, but there also isn’t a clear path for him to get on the field. He played outside cornerback at Alabama, but the best guess is that is that is going to compete with Alontae Taylor for the slot position. And if McKinstry loses, he could even potentially try his hand at safety.

So, I guess the answer is yes…he could play safety

Last edited:
I brought it up on game day when I noticed his foot speed was less than stellar for a boundary DB, but it’s been mentioned twice now.

Tyrann Mathieu mentioned it to a degree

"Man, he's so polished. I always respect that because a lot of people think I'm a flashy player, but I'm really a technician. So I always relied on my coaches to kind of give me that stuff and then I just put my own sauce on it. I say that to say that he's a polished player. He comes from under Nick Saban, so I already know that he understands the cornerback position, nickel position and the safety position.

And Underhill just mentioned it as well