Mizzou DE Michael Sam comes out as being gay. (1 Viewer)

Will be the 1st openly gay player in the NFL. Interesting to see if/how this pans out. Draft status, locker room, ect...

^ in the long run we all win

"I endured so much in my past: seeing my older brother killed from a gunshot wound, not knowing that my oldest sister died when she was a baby and I never got the chance to meet her. My second oldest brother went missing in 1998, and me and my little sister were the last ones to see him ... my other two brothers have been in and out of jail since 8th grade, currently both in jail.

"Telling the world I'm gay is nothing compared to that."

realz

"I'm not afraid to tell the world who I am. I'm Michael Sam: I'm a college graduate. I'm African American, and I'm gay," he said. "I'm comfortable in my skin."

I think this news will actually "help" his draft stock. Teams will feel pressure to draft him right at (or before) his projected round because they want to show their "tolerance" or whatever...

It's how the teams accept him in the locker room that will be interesting.

I think this news will actually "help" his draft stock. Teams will feel pressure to draft him right at (or before) his projected round because they want to show their "tolerance" or whatever...

If you read the ESPN story in the other thread it sounds like this was already known around the league as he'd already come out to his teammates. So I don't think this will change his standing with teams, although there will certainly be talk about his "draft stock" in the media.

And you have more faith in the NFL than I do. I think he'll be taken off of some teams boards for being gay. :jpshakehead:

If you read the ESPN story in the other thread it sounds like this was already known around the league as he'd already come out to his teammates. So I don't think this will change his standing with teams, although there will certainly be talk about his "draft stock" in the media.