My home pc has a virus!!! (1 Viewer)

atceagle

BRING THE WOOD!
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
4,822
Reaction score
1,523
Age
46
Location
Biloxi
Offline
I think it does anyway. Need some help. Yesterday, I went to watch a video someone had sent me and it said I needed to download something to view it. So I did but it seemed like it never fully downloaded and the video never worked. So last night and this morning, I'm getting these popups some I can't tell if they are real or not. One is a "Windows Security Alert." It says Windows has detected an Internet attack attempt....Click here to download spyware remover for total protection. My tool bar at the top has changed and has added "remove popups, scan spyware, securtiy test, spam protection." Also, my background has changed to a red screen with a bad looking symbol saying "your privacy is in danger, download privacy protection software now."

Just got another popup saying "Security Warning" Worm.win32.netsky detected on your machine. It goes on to say click yes to remove it from your PC immediately but if I click yes more virus protection pop ups come up.

Any suggestions? I ran adaware and restarted my computer but no difference.
 

Saint77

Burrrrrrrsitis!
Joined
Nov 5, 2001
Messages
12,237
Reaction score
1,641
Age
52
Location
Columbus, Ohio
Offline
Yup, you got hammered.

Spybot.

If spybot cant get rid of it all, but yet shows what it is, do a google search on it, there are a ton of tools out there for specific types of spyware, virii and trojons
 
OP
atceagle

atceagle

BRING THE WOOD!
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
4,822
Reaction score
1,523
Age
46
Location
Biloxi
Offline
man, it's got 3 icons on my desktop and it's in my ie favorites.
 

Sir RoAcH

Very Banned
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
432
Reaction score
5
Age
34
Location
Baton Rouge, via Chalmette
Offline
I see these pop-ups all the time. While Spybot will definitely help out some, it won't get all of them.

I recommend using a program called Smitfraud Fix. Smitfraud is a type of spyware (very nasty), and I'm pretty sure it's causing at least some of your problems.

Just download the program, update it, and run it. It's very simple to use, as it is based in a DOS environment. They also recommend that you put your computer in Safe Mode when running the clean. You can download it from the following link. Good luck!

http://siri.geekstogo.com/SmitfraudFix.php
 

Saint77

Burrrrrrrsitis!
Joined
Nov 5, 2001
Messages
12,237
Reaction score
1,641
Age
52
Location
Columbus, Ohio
Offline
I see these pop-ups all the time. While Spybot will definitely help out some, it won't get all of them.

I recommend using a program called Smitfraud Fix. Smitfraud is a type of spyware (very nasty), and I'm pretty sure it's causing at least some of your problems.

Just download the program, update it, and run it. It's very simple to use, as it is based in a DOS environment. They also recommend that you put your computer in Safe Mode when running the clean. You can download it from the following link. Good luck!

http://siri.geekstogo.com/SmitfraudFix.php

Spybot will get rid of most smitfraud variations in safe mode, or pre-desktop load, but your right, not all. This why I recommended a scan, and what it couldn't get rid of, google for a utility to do the rest.
 

Beast

Former Camp Beast
VIP Contributor
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
13,204
Reaction score
2,778
Location
Parts Unknown
Offline
Definitely update and run SpyBot and AdAware in Safe Mode.. This keeps the spyware from loading into memory at boot up..

You may also want to download AVG virus scanner, get all of the updates and run a scan just to see if you really have any viruses..

Also, you may want to download SpywareBlaster from JavaCoolSoftware.. It's a handy little tool that helps to keep spyware from ever installing..
 

Eeyore

Flucifer
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
18,088
Reaction score
10,816
Age
50
Location
Ersetu
Offline
My "son-in-law" downloaded this mess at Christmas.

I used msconfig to turn it off so that I could re-boot and wipe it out with spybot and adaware. Spybot can't get rid of it if it is still in memory and it will go into memory every time you boot up until you turn it off. Safe mode may be best for this. I'm just saying what I did.

After that I downloaded and installed avast on my step-daughter's computer so that he would have a more difficult time messing things up.
 

Jeff Miller

Shaw 1988, NYIT 2009
Joined
May 27, 2002
Messages
18,459
Reaction score
8,995
Age
51
Location
Vancouver, WA
Online
its not as much a virus as much as a "hyjack". What downloaded was nusuense program to get you to buy a program from the same people that just hyjacked you to remove the program they hyjacked you with.

I tried several things to get rid of it, nothing worked and i had to do a system restore.

You should never have to download anything to watch a video, ever.
 
OP
atceagle

atceagle

BRING THE WOOD!
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
4,822
Reaction score
1,523
Age
46
Location
Biloxi
Offline
its not as much a virus as much as a "hyjack". What downloaded was nusuense program to get you to buy a program from the same people that just hyjacked you to remove the program they hyjacked you with.

I tried several things to get rid of it, nothing worked and i had to do a system restore.

You should never have to download anything to watch a video, ever.

Yes, that's exactly what it's doing. Currently using Firefox while Spybot runs.....slow... two things it has found is the Smitfraud thing and Microsoft.WindowsSecurityCenter_disabled. Trying to get this thing cleaned up before the wife gets home. She's gonna kill me.

The thing about the video, it came up and said I needed an Active X something to view it. I think that is what did it, not sure.
 
OP
atceagle

atceagle

BRING THE WOOD!
Joined
Nov 12, 2003
Messages
4,822
Reaction score
1,523
Age
46
Location
Biloxi
Offline
It's now saying that it can't fix the problem because I am not the administrator. What the crap did I do wrong? Seriously, the search and destroy just took 5 hrs.

On a good note, the wife took it ok because I told her the good folks at SR gave me advice to fix it.
 

Saint77

Burrrrrrrsitis!
Joined
Nov 5, 2001
Messages
12,237
Reaction score
1,641
Age
52
Location
Columbus, Ohio
Offline
The "Microsoft.WindowsSecurityCenter_disabled" message is normal, if you have norton, MacAfee, or any other type of anti virus that disables the windows warnings, and uses its own.

Which makes me think you have spybot 1.4, if so, you should consider upgrading to 1.5

Go into Safe mode and do the scan again, in safe mode, pick the Administrator account to log onto the machine.

If spybot 1.5 doesnt get rid of the smitfraud, there are a ton of tools out there diesigned just for that bad boy that will.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



Headlines

Top Bottom