Need some help from the tech heads in here (1 Viewer)

Dago

Veteran
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
6,665
Reaction score
10,205
Offline
Looking for a relatively inexpensive network storage system to rip my DVD to that can be accessed wirelessly through computers and TV in the home
 

sfbaysaint

ALL-MADDEN TEAM
Joined
Oct 26, 2010
Messages
3,958
Reaction score
2,688
Offline
Amazon cloud drive at about $7/month for 1TB plan
Typical 1080p movies are 4-8GBs.. but blu-ray will be about 30-50GB and 4k movie will be 100GB
 
OP
Dago

Dago

Veteran
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
6,665
Reaction score
10,205
Offline
Yeah I wasn't looking for a cloud solution
 

Hedon James

the agitant f/k/a Jekylz Hyde
Joined
Sep 1, 1997
Messages
2,195
Reaction score
2,607
Location
Garden of Hedon...wherever I am, there I are...
Online
Install KODI on an old(er) desktop system. Rip yer DVDs, put the resultant video files (I prefer MP4 format for universal compatibility) in the right folder, point KODI to that folder for content, and let KODI serve the content to any device within WLAN network range. I use MediaHouse for my Android devices, and a set top NUC computer for my big screen. Fairly simple, and I'm very happy with it. FWIW...

If you have an older system to re-purpose as server, your hardware is free. KODI is free. And I rip DVDs with Handbrake, also free. It doesn't get much cheaper than that!
 

Eeyore

Flucifer
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
18,102
Reaction score
10,838
Age
50
Location
Ersetu
Online
It probably depends on the device's that you plan to use to access the files.

I have a Western Digital NAS which works great as a dvr for my HDhomerun tuners. I also have a bunch of movies ripped to it. Unfortunately, I'm only able to access the movies on pc and my phone. My tv can't access the movies and neither can my Nvidia shield TV's.
 

buzd

party lamp
Staff member
Tech-Admin
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
33,227
Reaction score
27,801
Location
Duncan Plaza
Offline
It probably depends on the device's that you plan to use to access the files.

I have a Western Digital NAS which works great as a dvr for my HDhomerun tuners. I also have a bunch of movies ripped to it. Unfortunately, I'm only able to access the movies on pc and my phone. My tv can't access the movies and neither can my Nvidia shield TV's.
Does it not have some sort of DLNA plug in for your library? That's what lets all my devices see my NAS.
 

Eeyore

Flucifer
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
18,102
Reaction score
10,838
Age
50
Location
Ersetu
Online
Does it not have some sort of DLNA plug in for your library? That's what lets all my devices see my NAS.
You inspired me to look. Their own software can't find it now, despite the fact that I'm using it to watch Sunday's game.

I'm going to go nuts trying to get this to work.
 

buzd

party lamp
Staff member
Tech-Admin
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
33,227
Reaction score
27,801
Location
Duncan Plaza
Offline
You inspired me to look. Their own software can't find it now, despite the fact that I'm using it to watch Sunday's game.

I'm going to go nuts trying to get this to work.
Do you know what model it is?
 

Eeyore

Flucifer
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
18,102
Reaction score
10,838
Age
50
Location
Ersetu
Online
Do you know what model it is?
Not immediately
It's an older "MyCloud." My phone app is on OS3. This model doesn't have a transcoder and the newer models do. I think that I could use plex to access it on the nvidia shield.
 
Last edited:

Eeyore

Flucifer
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
18,102
Reaction score
10,838
Age
50
Location
Ersetu
Online
Do you know what model it is?
This is odd. I just got it to mount on a shield but windows can't find it. If it ends here I'll take it but it's frustrating that I can never get everything working at once.

It's a very affordable NAS. Mine is old. I'm sure that the newer models are much better.
 
OP
Dago

Dago

Veteran
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
6,665
Reaction score
10,205
Offline
Ideally I would want to be able to rip it as an image and still be able to use menus and extra features. Also, able to process and play 4k
 

zatsnzapps

Do you have a pwobwem...?
VIP Contributor
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
9,537
Reaction score
13,360
Age
51
Location
Bawlmer, Merlyn via Birmingham and Metairie/Kenner
Offline
I mentioned a few weeks ago that my NAS took a crap on me, but it worked flawlessly for over 9 years and the drives are still intact, so I can't complain. The flash chip got fubar on the motherboard, and since they don't make the motherboard for my model any longer, I need to get a new one.

I had a 5-bay Synology NAS with 4 2TB drives (the 5th drive was a spare). Synology aren't the cheapest around, but I can say that it was a great investment. I'll get another one when I can, but I just don't feel like dropping that much coin right now.
 

itztime

Subscribing Member
VIP Subscribing Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2002
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
981
Age
44
Location
MS
Offline
Not immediately
It's an older "MyCloud." My phone app is on OS3. This model doesn't have a transcoder and the newer models do. I think that I could use plex to access it on the nvidia shield.
I was going to suggest Plex, I have been a long time user. Your TV is it not Smart App capable, because the Plex app should be available, but you already probably crossed that bridge.
 

Eeyore

Flucifer
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
18,102
Reaction score
10,838
Age
50
Location
Ersetu
Online
I mentioned a few weeks ago that my NAS took a crap on me, but it worked flawlessly for over 9 years and the drives are still intact, so I can't complain. The flash chip got fubar on the motherboard, and since they don't make the motherboard for my model any longer, I need to get a new one.

I had a 5-bay Synology NAS with 4 2TB drives (the 5th drive was a spare). Synology aren't the cheapest around, but I can say that it was a great investment. I'll get another one when I can, but I just don't feel like dropping that much coin right now.
I set one up at the union hall last year. I think that it was the 918+. It seems like overkill for a media server but it would be very good. It was so easy to set up raid. I gave up having all of my discs on drives because I was constantly ripping discs to replace failed drives. The Synology would have been nice.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



New Orleans Saints Twitter Feed

Headlines

Top Bottom