NFL Needs To Revamp Referee System - A Proposal (1 Viewer)

sacrosaint

All-Pro
Reaction score
I am just a fan. I am a fan of the New Orleans Saints and a fan of the NFL. I am tired of watching NFL games - not just Saints games - that are adversely affected by the current officiating system in place. The game has changed. It is time for NFL officiating to keep up.

I am not an expert but I can see that the officiating in the NFL needs to be fixed. For the 3rd time in three high profile games, the officials have made errors that cost the Saints games and/or points. No team should be subjected to these types of mistakes. Even if you are not a fan of the Saints, it should be concerning to you as a fan of an NFL team that these situations continue to occur.

The average age of an NFL official is 51 years. The average age of an NFL player is 26.6 years. The officials are almost two times older than the players on the field. The speed of the game is faster than ever and will only continue to increase as teams and players look for conditioning, training, and analytical methods to get an edge over competitors. Meanwhile, the NFL is expecting middle-aged men to keep up with players half their age on the field and to see the plays in real time and make decisions on the spot.

Another issue is that not all NFL officials are full time employees. This is a distraction from focusing on the rule changes and expectations of meeting the needs on game days from August through February.

It is time for a change. It is time for the NFL to recognize that the game has evolved and the current methods of choosing and training NFL officials are outdated. It is time for the NFL to bring in younger, faster referees who are more physically able to keep up with the ever accelerating speed of the athletes who play the game and deserve accurate calls on the field.