NFL Prospects from THE BOOT -- Mike Detillier (1 Viewer)

Dan in Lafayette

Staff member
Administrator
Diamond VIP Contributor
Reaction score
askmike.jpg

NFL Prospects from THE BOOT

By Mike Detillier

I have been evaluating college talent headed to the NFL for 30 years and every year something jumps out at me. In the 2017 NFL draft class, what jumps out to me is the huge amount of potential pro prospects with Louisiana roots available to the 32 NFL teams.

Six out of the last nine years Louisiana per capita has produced more NFL players than any other state in the United States. In those 3 other years they came in second.

I have never seen so many potential Louisiana pro prospects in my 30 years covering the college football world in one draft class. Below are prospects who played high school football and grew up in Louisiana.

In my potential top-30 prospects Louisiana has 4:

Leonard Fournette-Halfback, LSU (St. Augustine)
Tim Williams- Outside Linebacker, Alabama (University Lab)
Cam Robinson-Offensive Tackle, Alabama (West Monroe)
Tre’Davious White-Cornerback, LSU (Green Oaks-Shreveport)

Prospects considered to be selected in the second or third round of the 2017 NFL draft Louisiana has 6 in:

Malachi Dupre-Wide Receiver, LSU (John Curtis)
Davon Godchaux-Defensive Tackle, LSU (Plaquemine)
Jeremy Cutrer-Cornerback, Middle Tennessee (Jewel-Sumner-Kentwood)
Duke Riley-Outside Linebacker, LSU (John Curtis)
Carlos Henderson-Wide Receiver, Louisiana Tech (McDonogh 35)
Kendell Beckwith-Middle Linebacker, LSU (East Feliciana)

NFL prospects with very late third round into the fifth round Louisiana has 6 prospects:

Tanzel Smart-Defensive Tackle, Tulane (Scotlandville Magnet)
Chad Williams-Wide Receiver, Grambling (Madison Prep)
Elijah McGuire-Halfback, UL-Lafayette (Vandebilt-Catholic)
Trent Taylor-Wide Receiver, Louisiana Tech (Evangel Christian)
Travin Dural-Wide Receiver, LSU (Breaux Bridge)
Xavier Woods-Strong Safety, Louisiana Tech (West Monroe)