Please help with graphics drivers in Ubuntu (1 Viewer)

Brennan77

Dubious
VIP Subscribing Member
Reaction score
Let me start by saying I'm a complete linux noob. I'm trying to get ubuntu up and running for my buddy's PC. He wants a cheap box for his wife to web surf, listen to music, and check email. Enter ubuntu in place of stealing Windows XP.

Unfortunately, this is turning out to be less than intuitive.

My problem is screen resolution. After activating the recommended nvidia display drivers, which were not automatically installed, the default selection of resolution is not supported by the monitor. This is a regular 1280x1024 lcd screen, so I can't see what the problem would be, but I can't boot using the display drivers. I can boot using recovery mode to disable the drivers, but I can't seem to change the resolution to something appropriate for the monitor.

Any help would be appreciated. It's really unfortunate that something this simple is ruining my experience here.

What's up, Brennan!

What exact card is this?

Have you used the nvidia-settings tool?
Code:
gksudo nvidia-settings

Hey! Thanks for the reply! Just playin with computers on my day off... :)

I can't see the settings tool when the driver is activated. :) The resolution it selects is not supported by the monitor, therefore nothing is on the screen except the message from the monitor telling me that it is not happy.

I can't run the tool with the driver not being activated. I'm trying to reactivate an older driver version right now to see if that helps. In the meantime, I haven't been able to install the latest downloaded driver. It says something about an x server running.

Sorry, this is all greek to me.

This is a 6600GT AGP card on an nforce 2 Abit NF7S with an Athlon XP 3200. Nice old system.

Are you sure the nvidia module is loaded? Open a terminal and type:
Code:
lsmod | grep nv
If it returns "nv", then the correct module is not loaded.
If you see "nvidia", then it is.