tennis question (1 Viewer)

2fya

Bench Warmer
Joined
Nov 2, 2005
Messages
3,487
Reaction score
3,716
Age
35
Location
Lafayette, LA
Offline
me and a few of my friends were playing doubles a couple of hours ago, and he had a pretty heated argument about one of the points. i need someone who knows the rules to help us settle this. here goes......

my teammate was playing the net, and the ball was hit to him, so he slammed it right at the feet of one of the other players. his body and racquet never touched the net, but his racquet went over the plane of the net. what is the call? is it legal or illegal for a person or his/her racquet to break the plane of the net, but never touch it. any advice would be appreciated
 

obwhiteo

Proudly wearing my dress!
VIP Contributor
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
5,904
Reaction score
2,737
Age
39
Location
Gulfport
Offline
can't break the plane of the net regardless of whether you hit it or not... imagine an imaginary wall going all the way up..if it goes past that wall it's loss of point...
 

Mamba

SR is my life!
VIP Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
4,958
Age
39
Offline
Illegal. The player and his racquet must stay on his side of the net.

By the way, I've learned it's best to just re-play the point instead of arguing with each other ;)
 
OP
2fya

2fya

Bench Warmer
Joined
Nov 2, 2005
Messages
3,487
Reaction score
3,716
Age
35
Location
Lafayette, LA
Offline
Illegal. The player and his racquet must stay on his side of the net.

By the way, I've learned it's best to just re-play the point instead of arguing with each other ;)


thanks guys. yea we replayed the point. we arent that serious about tennis though, its just that we usually just like to argue....
 

hammernnails

Super Forum Fanatic
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
8,639
Reaction score
524
Age
48
Location
The beautiful Pocono Mts...
Offline
Illegal. The player and his racquet must stay on his side of the net.

By the way, I've learned it's best to just re-play the point instead of arguing with each other ;)


This is the correct call... it is one of the reasons the judge sits where he does ..

I had a similar question .. I was playing in a league and we both rushed the net and one of my shots hit his arm and fell on my side... I gave him the point but still wonder what the "official" call should be....
 

SWJJ

Stop Resisting!
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
21,422
Reaction score
11,999
Location
Shreveport
Offline
as I understand your racquet cannot cross the plane of the net, and you your clothes and your racquet all can not touch the net.
 

austinwes

Practice Squad
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
16
Reaction score
7
Offline
Actually you can cross the plane of the net with your raquet on the follow through as long as you make contact with the ball on your side of the net.
 

slaym

Super Forum Fanatic
VIP Contributor
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Messages
10,063
Reaction score
3,624
Age
47
Location
Troy, AL
Offline
Actually you can cross the plane of the net with your raquet on the follow through as long as you make contact with the ball on your side of the net.

That is correct.
 
OP
2fya

2fya

Bench Warmer
Joined
Nov 2, 2005
Messages
3,487
Reaction score
3,716
Age
35
Location
Lafayette, LA
Offline
Actually you can cross the plane of the net with your raquet on the follow through as long as you make contact with the ball on your side of the net.


ok thanks. that just decided our argument then.

does anyone know the call for hammernnails situation? wut would the call be if the ball hit someone's arm and went over the net?
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users who are viewing this thread

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
Tony1Saintfan Question for the lawyers on here. Everything Else Board 16

Similar threads

 

New Orleans Saints Twitter Feed

 

Headlines

Top Bottom