Tim and Pat's Sirius NFL Radio Mock draft today (1 Viewer)

BlackNGoldblood

Cruisin' for a Bruisin'
VIP Contributor
Reaction score
Tim Ryan and Pat Kirwan's mock draft today had Saints taking offensive lineman DJ Fluker with 15th pick. Werner went to Bucs at 13. Tim made the pick, said Saints needs were offensive line, defensive line and safety. He also made Werner pick, said Bucs would go with best available defensive player instead of addressing major need at corner.

I respect Tim a lot and I'm no expert, but I've watched every game DJ played and he just doesn't look anything like an NFL LT to me.

He could be a great RT for a decade or more, but I'm not seeing LT at all.

I guess Fluker would be ok, but he's only a right tackle

Tim said he could play all positions on o-line.

I respect Tim a lot and I'm no expert, but I've watched every game DJ played and he just doesn't look anything like an NFL LT to me.

I think in our system he would be an upgrade. We do not need the "franchise LT". We can do just as well with a traditional RT. Drew gets the ball out fast. We do not need our tackle blocking for 8 seconds. As long as he does not give up immediate inside pressure or get bullrushed straight back to Drew, we are fine most of the time. Plus with the addition of Ben Watson, we are going to be running a lot of 2 TEs sets, so we have even less of a need for a franchise LT.

What would be an improvement is down blocking in goal line and in the running game. Fluker would be much better than Bushrod in those areas because he has much better lower body strength. I would think of Fluker as a Marcus NcNeill or a Donald Penn type.