Tuesday Morning QB (1 Viewer)

Complex Kid

Most things I worry about Never happen anyway
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
12,229
Reaction score
19,871
Age
41
Location
Lake Charles, LA
Online
Didn't see this anywhere else. This is from Page 2 on ESPN:

Adventures in Officiating: Facing second-and-goal on the Pittsburgh 4, the Saints appeared to execute a bouncing direct-snap to tailback Deuce McAllister, who ran for the touchdown. Announcers debated whether it was a trick play or a botched snap. It was the latter, and the official Game Book lists the play as a fumble by center Jeff Faine. Overlooked -- there should have been a penalty! Direct-snapping to a running back is legal only if the quarterback never places his hands under center; once someone places his hands under center, only that person can receive the snap. Drew Brees was under center when this happened. Rule 7-3-4 states, "Any extension of hands by a player under center as if to receive the snap is a false start unless, while under center, he receives the snap."
 

BlackNGoldblood

Cruisin' for a Bruisin'
VIP Contributor
Joined
Oct 5, 2006
Messages
5,374
Reaction score
3,932
Age
46
Offline
Very interesting. Thanks for the post.
 

S.L.T.D

Pro-Bowler
Joined
Apr 17, 2002
Messages
689
Reaction score
3
Age
37
Offline
but it was a fumble, thus negating the rule.
 

anat0mical

Guest
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
613
Reaction score
0
Offline
If that was in fact a fumble, Deuce's reaction was insanely fast.
 

mbg

All-Pro
Joined
Aug 20, 2001
Messages
1,084
Reaction score
174
Location
Houston Via Abbeville, LA.
Offline
but it was a fumble, thus negating the rule.
I'm not so sure it negates the rule. it's kinda like when a player goes out of bounds, he is not allowed to be the next person to touch the ball. A fumble would not negate that. Someone else would need to touch the ball before that player, he could then recover it.

Just a guess.

mbg
 

jimwnola

Hall-of-Famer
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
4,018
Reaction score
185
Age
59
Location
Mandeville, LA
Offline
But what if the ball bounced off Brees on way to Deuce? Meets rule, but center gets credit for fumble because Brees never got control. Maybe even Saints know they are streching rule a bir for trick play, which is why all have to claim was fumble (even though it looked partially designed).
 

st.randy

otis
Joined
Mar 13, 2005
Messages
8,076
Reaction score
1,291
Age
54
Offline
Didn't see this anywhere else. This is from Page 2 on ESPN:

Adventures in Officiating: Facing second-and-goal on the Pittsburgh 4, the Saints appeared to execute a bouncing direct-snap to tailback Deuce McAllister, who ran for the touchdown. Announcers debated whether it was a trick play or a botched snap. It was the latter, and the official Game Book lists the play as a fumble by center Jeff Faine. Overlooked -- there should have been a penalty! Direct-snapping to a running back is legal only if the quarterback never places his hands under center; once someone places his hands under center, only that person can receive the snap. Drew Brees was under center when this happened. Rule 7-3-4 states, "Any extension of hands by a player under center as if to receive the snap is a false start unless, while under center, he receives the snap."
I'll have to look at it again, but it could be a legal play if the ball hit drew on the way out. I agree that it was probably a bad snap on an intentional play. In fact Faine said to the sideline reporter during the broadcast that the ball got hung up in the turf.....considering the velocity, it was coming out like a deep snap.
And if it was, I would not correct the assumption that it was a muffed play if I were payton. Let em think it was a recovered fumble, you have a play in the book that no one has seen even though you have used it.
 
Last edited:

Dean in L.A.

Subscribing Member
Administrator
VIP Subscribing Member
VIP Contributor
Platinum VIP Contributor
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
13,546
Reaction score
1,316
Offline
definitely a fumble, crazy play, big time heads up by teh Deuce
 

Jonboy

Veteran Starter
VIP Contributor
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
366
Reaction score
236
Offline
Hmmm... seems like quartbacks routinely go under center and then back out and audible when the defense shows blitz.
 

blacksaint

Guest
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Offline
All I have to say is, it's about time a call goes our way, i'm a true saints fan and I remember fondly some interesting calls from a year ago. Fumble or not who cares six(6) points our way BABY!!!
 

Mardiboys

Hall-of-Famer
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
2,668
Reaction score
2,719
Offline
Good call - very interesting play when I saw it happen. I guess we'll have to forfeit that game.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
26,456
Reaction score
70,181
Location
Earth
Offline
Didn't see this anywhere else. This is from Page 2 on ESPN:

Adventures in Officiating: Facing second-and-goal on the Pittsburgh 4, the Saints appeared to execute a bouncing direct-snap to tailback Deuce McAllister, who ran for the touchdown. Announcers debated whether it was a trick play or a botched snap. It was the latter, and the official Game Book lists the play as a fumble by center Jeff Faine. Overlooked -- there should have been a penalty! Direct-snapping to a running back is legal only if the quarterback never places his hands under center; once someone places his hands under center, only that person can receive the snap. Drew Brees was under center when this happened. Rule 7-3-4 states, "Any extension of hands by a player under center as if to receive the snap is a false start unless, while under center, he receives the snap."
Interesting rule, but I've seen QB's come out from under center to change the play too many times to count. I wonder if its just never called or if the interpretation gives leeway to QB's for adjustments.
 

New Orleans Rob

Veteran Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
456
Reaction score
5
Location
New Orleans
Offline
Deuce admitted in an interview after the game that the play was supposed to be a pass play. It was a botched snap that the Saints got verrrry lucky on. Finally a break for the ole Saints. Unbelievable reaction by Deuce to pick it up and run it into the end zone.
 

Large Saints Fan

Score! Would you kindly?
VIP Contributor
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
798
Reaction score
332
Age
48
Location
Formerly Violet, LA now Lafayette
Offline
The rule is once the QB goes under center only he can receive the snap.

He can come out and make adjustments he just must be the guy to receive the snap.

I saw Kurt Warner get called for this a few years back. iirc he went under center , stepped out and faked that disgusted walk to the sideline as if calling a timeout due to coverage. The ball went straight to Faulk and the whistle blew because he had gone under center and therefore was only eligible player to receive the snap.

That is why we always did the direct snap to deuce from the shotgun.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



New Orleans Saints Twitter Feed

Headlines

Top Bottom