Turley drops F-bomb on Robert Smith on live radio (1 Viewer)

okay......he cussed.........but what about his CONTENT? Did the dude have a point or not?

What kids are listening to that show?

okay......he cussed.........but what about his CONTENT? Did the dude have a point or not?

What kids are listening to that show?

I'm no expert on the situation, but I side with Robert Smith. Turley is very passionate about the issue, but I think he's expecting that the NFL owes all former players who got "hurt" a decent living for the rest of their life. He misunderstands what "disability" actually is. "Disability" doesn't just mean you have injuries that prevent you from playing football. It means you can't work, period.

Robert Smith has a much more balanced view in that the players (especially in the modern era) need to take more responsibility for their own financial planning and future career path. Yes, there are some former players who are disabled from working (not just playing football) who aren't getting a fair shake, but this doesn't encompass all former players who ever suffered a career-ending injury.

I'm no expert on the situation, but I side with Robert Smith. Turley is very passionate about the issue, but I think he's expecting that the NFL owes all former players who got "hurt" a decent living for the rest of their life. He misunderstands what "disability" actually is. "Disability" doesn't just mean you have injuries that prevent you from playing football. It means you can't work, period.

Robert Smith has a much more balanced view in that the players (especially in the modern era) need to take more responsibility for their own financial planning and future career path. Yes, there are some former players who are disabled from working (not just playing football) who aren't getting a fair shake, but this doesn't encompass all former players who ever suffered a career-ending injury.