Uneasy in the Big Easy (1 Viewer)

Bayouboy

Football Genius
VIP Contributor
Reaction score
For the first time in my life, I have seriously thought about the violence occurring in New Orleans. I'm staying the night on Friday (we're going to a concert) & I've carefully planned out what we will do and when. Obviously, this does not ensure our safety.....but until now, I've never really thought about safety much at all. I've always felt very comfortable going downtown and having a good time. For some reason, it's different today.

Is this just an emotional thought process due to the increase in violent crime? Or has New Orleans really become - uneasy???

not being a resident i cant say but the "uneasiness" is a state of mind, be the "uneasiness" be fear or other

It's an emotional response but it isn't unreasonable. I'm a resident and most of us have the same concern right now. The disregard for the value of life is plainly shocking. It's certainly got me considering our future in the city. We have a little one on the way and I have to ask the question as to whether this is an acceptable and good environment for a child. If I can't bring my child to the nearby park for fear of violent crime, do we really belong here at all?

I wouldn't let it stop you from your plans, but absolutely travel in groups and do not allow yourself to be a target due to inebriation or surroundings.

It is bad when talking about crime New Orleans is used a a measuring stick on a national concern. It drove me crazy when talking about the crime in New Orleans I was met with "it happens in all cities". Well guess what New Orleans now leads the country homicide rate (43 homicides per 100,000 people). I am just disgusted. This apathetic approach is what got us to this point:

https://www.policeone.com/ambush/articles/370416006-The-10-most-murderous-counties-in-the-U-S/