USB HDD/Data Recovery? (1 Viewer)

Reaction score
I'm beyond my pay-grade and need serious help to rescue an external usb storage device or, at a minimum, all the media files on it.

Not sure if I should be posting here, or general tech forum, but my server is Ubuntu linux and my request revolves around linux "rescue" knowledge. If a mod deems this to be in the wrong place, please accept my apologies and move it where you think it should be. Otherwise, here goes...

This is my first attempt at a media server project. I've set up an old desktop with Ubuntu 10.04 LTS to serve as a full-time media server to my household machines. I've set up AirVideo and MediaTomb to stream to a combination of Apple and Android devices, using UPnP. I just finished Handbrake-ripping the last dvd of my 300+ movie library to a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 2TB external usb drive, configuring AirVideo and MediaTomb and successfully tested the stream to an iPod Touch and my Archos IT. Was feeling pretty pleased with myself for the successful setup of my first server, with no assistance. Planning on using the external usb drive as my "backup drive", I started looking into a 2nd hard drive for the main box, large enough to accommodate the currently 240GB+/- library (in effect, I created the "backup data" to an external first, and was planning to "restore" the backup data to a primary internal hdd).

However, a lightning storm cut the power this weekend, which NEVER happens here (well, almost never...) and upon reboot, the Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex no longer automounts; in short summary, if I disconnect the device and reconnect the device, Ubuntu will mount it, but I cannot navigate the directory tree...Nautilus locks up, and the entire system must be rebooted. Ubuntu Disk Utility indicates that there are a significant number of "pending" and "reallocated" blocks on the Seagate.