Website issues (duplicate posts) (1 Viewer)

DaveXA

I love the Lord!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
32,599
Reaction score
20,369
Age
49
Location
Vienna, VA via Lafayette
Offline
I've noticed more and more lately database errors during posting. This often is leading to double and sometimes more posting. I'm not sure if it's related to the browser used or to something with the website/server.

At first I thought maybe it was temporary, but it seems like it's been going on a while. Could someone maybe explain what's causing the issue?
 

Galbreath34

Very Banned
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
32,273
Reaction score
30,806
Offline
I never really noticed happening much until last night. I saw it happen to a few other posters too.
 

saintsfanfl

They call me Boudreaux
Joined
Feb 21, 2007
Messages
3,780
Reaction score
5,297
Age
55
Location
W. Palm Beach, FL
Offline
I've noticed more and more lately database errors during posting. This often is leading to double and sometimes more posting. I'm not sure if it's related to the browser used or to something with the website/server.

At first I thought maybe it was temporary, but it seems like it's been going on a while. Could someone maybe explain what's causing the issue?
It's been happening to me on a regular basis for a few months now.

Glad to know I'm not the only one, but I don't have an explanation.

I've actually gotten into the habit lately of copying my posts when I get the spinning page load of death. That way after the database error occurs, when I log back in, I can 1st check to see if my post made it and if not I can paste without having to start all over.
 

saintsfanfl

They call me Boudreaux
Joined
Feb 21, 2007
Messages
3,780
Reaction score
5,297
Age
55
Location
W. Palm Beach, FL
Offline
It seems to be intermittent, and we haven't figured it out yet.
Definitely intermittent. I originally commented on this thread, no problem, 5 minutes later, posted on the discontinued food thread. Poof, database error.

It'll get worked out for sure. The SR IT team is the bomb.
 

bclemms

More than 15K posts served!
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
33,096
Reaction score
42,646
Age
12
Location
Jackson, ms
Offline
I just figured it was my computer or internet. Been happening a lot. The site acts like it hangs after hitting submit, then goes to database error.
 

saintyclaus

Veteran Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
484
Reaction score
412
Location
O'Fallon, MO
Offline
I don't post a lot but I've noticed it too. The timeout also happens when you click the "Preview Post" button.

It seems that the actual database record is usually saved. It kind of seems that the execution timeout of the page is set before the transaction timeout of the database.

Edit: It just did it on this post. I clicked save was able to count to 30 and then received a database error message. However, the post actually was saved to the DB.
 

Attachments

bclemms

More than 15K posts served!
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
33,096
Reaction score
42,646
Age
12
Location
Jackson, ms
Offline
I just figured it was my computer or internet. Been happening a lot. The site acts like it hangs after hitting submit, then goes to database error.
 

bclemms

More than 15K posts served!
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
33,096
Reaction score
42,646
Age
12
Location
Jackson, ms
Offline
I just figured it was my computer or internet. Been happening a lot. The site acts like it hangs after hitting submit, then goes to database error.
 

BHM

Can't please 'em all
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
15,217
Reaction score
14,078
Age
54
Location
Lafayette, LA
Offline
Seeing it fairly often as well though it does accept my post.

What s the correct spelling for apologise/apologize? I do not ever recall seeing it spelled apologise yet the online dictionary says it is correct??? My spell checker says it is wrong.
 

Attachments

gboudx

Not trusting a big butt and a smile since 1990.
VIP Contributor
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
24,587
Reaction score
11,739
Location
Rockwall, TX
Offline
It seems to be intermittent, and we haven't figured it out yet.
Right. You and Mike are on strike for a few extra bucks. You know exactly what's wrong. You pulled the Ethernet cable and the token fell out and you won't put it back.
 

Lurkaholic

Banned
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
6,931
Reaction score
6,212
Location
NOLA
Offline
Seeing it fairly often as well though it does accept my post.

What s the correct spelling for apologise/apologize? I do not ever recall seeing it spelled apologise yet the online dictionary says it is correct??? My spell checker says it is wrong.
Pretty sure apologise is British.
 

kevin from buffalo

SR is my life!
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
Jul 10, 1999
Messages
13,155
Reaction score
1,946
Age
56
Offline
change the color of the extension cord..and use a three prong instead of the two..also,turn the electric back on.most of these errors are do too power outages and lack of patience..

i don't have any problems
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Saint Droopy Its not just us fans (Safety issues) Saints Super Forum (Main Board) 0

Similar threads



Headlines

Top Bottom