What is middle class and how do you define it? (1 Viewer)

Krodwhodat

Subscribing Member
VIP Subscribing Member
Gold VIP Contributor
Reaction score
In the poor thread it raised a question to me, what is middle class. I think that we will all have very different ideas. What are your thoughts?

Hmmm, this is very non-PC for 2019 but I'll tell you what my thought was when I got married at just barely the age of 20 so many,many years ago:

If I made enough money so that my wife could be a stay-at-home mom if she wanted to, and have a path to home ownership, then I would consider myself to be financially successful.

Not sure I'd feel that differently if I were starting all over today.

The middle fifth of income.

We usually expand it to be the middle 60% of family incomes. So, like 2/3 median income to double median income. Like 45k - 140k or something.

Or you can look at it by profession. Professionals... engineers, teachers, police, nurses (not counting Nurse Practitioners), social workers, accountants, marketing, etc. Generally a lot of white collar jobs.

The middle fifth of income.

We usually expand it to be the middle 60% of family incomes. So, like 2/3 median income to double median income. Like 45k - 140k or something.

Or you can look at it by profession. Professionals... engineers, teachers, police, nurses (not counting Nurse Practitioners), social workers, accountants, marketing, etc. Generally a lot of white collar jobs.
How do you account for cost of living in states because $140k isn’t middle class in some areas

How do you account for cost of living in states because $140k isn’t middle class in some areas

You said "state" - median household income in Hawaii (most expensive state to live in) is $74k. So I don't see how 140k in any state wouldn't be, at least, middle class.

But in some "areas" one million per year wouldn't be "middle"

So I'm not really sure what you're trying to establish