When, Where, and How did you meet your 1st Saints player?? (1 Viewer)

AmerVet

The 1 Arm Receiver
VIP Contributor
Reaction score
Your 1st Saints player? I'm young and Ive been to a lot of games starting back in 88 at around 4yo. But I didn't officially meet a Saints player until 98. I went to Fortier high school when I was a freshman. Since the school was at around the bottom of the barrel academically, I focused on music which I was already good at being that i played the trumpet since 7yo. Well long story short, I made the New Orleans all star band my freshman year and we performed at a Saints game. As we sat on the far sideline like close to the goal line(wherever they sit marching bands who perform at Saints games) the players came out and were warming up before the second half. I decided to go to the restroom and had to walk with security so as not to interfere with anything or anyone. On my way out, a ball hit me in the back hard as sh-- lol. When I turned around, there was Fred Weary offering his apology to the skinny kid he almost paralyzed because he couldn't catch.........Even in warm ups.

Last edited by a moderator:
I was working at the Beef Room on Causeway @ Vets as a bus boy for about a year during HS between 81 and 82.

Archie, along with Olivia, Cooper and Peyton came in for dinner one night.

I don't recall if an infant Eli was with them, it could have been before he was born. I know he was born in 81, I just don't recall there being a baby present that night.

They were very gracious to me and the other staff assigned to their table. He even talked briefly to the waiter and myself about the Saints since we both mentioned we were big fans.

I've not met any players since then with the direct contact I had that night with Archie and his family. Only the quick meets at camp with Drew and others along the barricades after practice.