Can a Minnesotan make a good gumbo? (2 Viewers)

VikesFan2017

Veteran Starter
VIP Contributor
Reaction score
I like to cook. I'm not a professional, but I like to grill, know how to use the stove top and oven and I have been getting better at baking Generally I find a recipe I kind of like that branch out from there with my own flavor preferences.

I want to make a nice gumbo, but have no idea where to start. Does anyone have a good gumbo recipe that isn't impossible to make to get me started? It seems like it would be a good dish to warm me up during these winter months. I'm looking for something good without 200 ingredients for starters.

Thanks in advance!

Gumbo is relatively easy to make. The biggest trouble you will probably have is finding decent andouille, although that is also pretty easy to make if you are so inclined.

Here is a recipe to get you started. There are a ton of variations.

Gumbo is relatively easy to make. The biggest trouble you will probably have is finding decent andouille, although that is also pretty easy to make if you are so inclined.

Here is a recipe to get you started. There are a ton of variations.

I have some "decent" andouille in my freezer right now that I need to use. I made jambalaya a week or two ago. Used some andouille and some chicken. I'll check out the recipe!
Probably not andouille that you would appreciate but solid enough to get started!

First, you make a roux.

I've made a roux before!
Aren't there different colors of roux? How far do I need to go with my roux?

I've always preferred the lighter roux, but I know a lot of people that prefer the darker roux.

I've made a roux before!
Aren't there different colors of roux? How far do I need to go with my roux?

that's a personal preference...i think most people like a darker roux but i like mine to be lighter than most

i don't have a recipe handy but i will tell you that if i can cook gumbo, almost anyone else should be able to