Article The fastest path for the Saints to clear the decks of their salary cap issues (1 Viewer)

Andrus

Owner/Webmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
We all know that Loomis and Co. are really good at finding ways to get under the cap most off-seasons (sans the Covid season). We also know that they are trying to be more judicious when it comes to kicking the can, possibly because they are forced to be at this point?

I am not an expert on, well, let's call it, capology, so I am not so sure how knowledgable the author is, however, I found the following article quite interesting, albeit rather harsh in regard to his ideas on getting under the cap next off-season.

By Wendell Ferreira

The contract adjustments to stay under the salary cap are an yearly tradition for the New Orleans Saints in the offseason. It's just how they operate, and there isn't a clear indication that executive vice president and general manager Mickey Loomis is willing to go into a full rebuild — or anything close to it.

However, at some point it makes no sense to just keep kicking the can down the road with a mediocre roster. Sure, the Saints as currently constructed can be competitive in the NFC South. But where does that take them? The fastest path to real Super Bowl contention for New Orleans would probably start with some sort of retooling, cleaning the decks while this version of the team isn't that good, to have spending power again in two or three years.

"We have to make up some ground," Loomis said earlier this offseason about the Saints' cap approach. "There's no question over a period of time here we're going to have to make up some ground cap-wise."

That's not to say the Saints were wrong when they used cap mechanisms to create more and more cap space while they were truly competitive with Drew Brees. It's an acknowledgement that this is not a smart strategy anymore when you don't have a championship-caliber roster." ...