"Uncatchable" rule??? (1 Viewer)

egautr1

ALL-MADDEN TEAM
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
2,762
Reaction score
2,536
Location
Madisonville, LA
Offline
Can someone please explain to me the whole concept behind the "Uncatchable pass" rule? I don't understand the point of this rule?

So if the QB makes a bad pass and the defender commits a penalty it does not matter? Why? It is still a penalty no? If a lineman holds on a play where the defender still makes a tackle or sack, is it not still a penalty? I don't understand the point of this rule. It makes no sense to me. A penalty is a penalty no matter how bad of a pass it is. The receiver was interfered with which would stop his ability to make a catch on any pass so why does it matter if it was "Uncatchable"?

I should say that I am an LSU fan and am writing this in reference to the play yesterday where the refs picked up a flag for PI when Lee threw it out of bounds. And i remember a few years back when LSU lost to Auburn when they picked up a PI flag in the end zone when Early Doucet was held on a fourth down i believe. This rule to me seems like nonsense. And I know there are other teams and schools that this rule has affected.

Can someone explain the point of this rule to me? :idunno:
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users who are viewing this thread

    Back
    Top Bottom