does them hdtv antennas work? (1 Viewer)

speckle trout

Pro-Bowler
Joined
Oct 18, 2006
Messages
638
Reaction score
140
Age
38
Offline
My samsung projection tv has one of them built in hdtv signal thingys. I got one of them antennas from walmart that says htdv compatible . Once i got home and set it up it doesnt seem to work. I cant get any HD channels like Fox. help plz
 

Ted

muddlin'
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
13,281
Reaction score
1,236
Age
57
Location
Bethesda, MD
Offline
is it just a litle rabbit ear thingy? if so, I had one, too, and it blew. I have one now in the attic and the picture is incredible.

BTW, the HD channels have a -1 after them. so like for channel 6, you have to tune to channel 6-1 for the HD signal.
 

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,895
Reaction score
3,555
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
My samsung projection tv has one of them built in hdtv signal thingys. I got one of them antennas from walmart that says htdv compatible . Once i got home and set it up it doesnt seem to work. I cant get any HD channels like Fox. help plz

give me your zipcode and I will tell you how close you are to the stations. "hdtv compatible" is a marketing scheme, any antenna can catch hd signals as long as it can tune to the uhf frequencies.
 

Beast

Former Camp Beast
VIP Contributor
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
13,190
Reaction score
2,740
Location
Parts Unknown
Offline
is it just a litle rabbit ear thingy? if so, I had one, too, and it blew. I have one now in the attic and the picture is incredible.

BTW, the HD channels have a -1 after them. so like for channel 6, you have to tune to channel 6-1 for the HD signal.
Ted, I saw one that I was thinking about buying and putting in my attic.. Are you using the antenna for one TV or multiple? I was thinking it would be great if I could connect the antenna where the cable comes into the house, and then let the signal be split by all of the wiring in the house for each cable jack, not one TV's cable jack.. I don't even know if that's possible or not..
 

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,895
Reaction score
3,555
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/Address.aspx

check this website out, put in your street address and then it will tell you how far you are from the transmitters and what direction to point your antenna. Im not sure which ones are up or down after the storm in the new orleans area maybe someone else can tell you that.
 
OP
speckle trout

speckle trout

Pro-Bowler
Joined
Oct 18, 2006
Messages
638
Reaction score
140
Age
38
Offline
I dunno what im doing wrong. hmm maybe i should get a better antenna? I bought one of them phillips one from walmart 25 bucks.
 

diat150

Guest
VIP Contributor
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
21,895
Reaction score
3,555
Location
Opelousas, LA
Offline
I know that a few of the stations around new orleans are still down from the storm. not sure which ones though. are you letting your tv scan for digital channels? check in your manual and follow the instructions on how to add digital stations.
 

Ted

muddlin'
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
13,281
Reaction score
1,236
Age
57
Location
Bethesda, MD
Offline
tgo, I don't see why you couldn't do that. My antenna signal piggy backs on the same cable as my directv signal.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



Headlines

Top Bottom