Patman255
Veteran Starter
- Joined
- Jan 3, 2009
- Messages
- 582
- Reaction score
- 1,377
Online
I think at this point it's pretty clear that it refers to the status of the clock before the play starts. It's a silly rule, but it seems like it's being applied consistently. It's just clearly kicking a team while they're down. It's not preventing some secret competitive edge to spiking the ball.Yea, none of these explanations explains the fact that spiking a ball that is snapped IS stopping a moving clock. Even if the clock is stopped pre-snap, snapping the ball starts the clock. Thus, you're still spiking a moving clock.