Cutting the cable, lets talk options and media setups (1 Viewer)

Hey Beerman

Hall-of-Famer
Gold VIP Contributor
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
2,664
Reaction score
899
Location
Cypress, TX
Online
Sticky Post
Cable prices are through the roof. I've been feeling the squeeze for way too long and its time to do something.

I've been hesitant to cut it during football season, but now that all of the games I care about watching are over, I would like to have a discussion about what my options are for still gaining access to shows and sports without the heavily overpriced cable/sat bill.

For Christmas, I made an investment in an Xbone (mostly for my kids) but also figured that it would be the hub of my eventual cable-free streaming media paradise. But from there I'm at a loss for how the rest of the setup should work to gain access to things I will want to see (movies, MNF, DVR like recording TV shows, etc.)

My TV plugged into a Cox DVR box is overpriced and dated so its time to modernize with some help from my friends here. Let's talk new media centers and all the ways people are accessing their media content after cutting cable.
 

Beast

Former Camp Beast
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
12,977
Reaction score
2,467
Location
Parts Unknown
Offline
I need some help / ideas on how to handle this..

We recently moved. My Mohu Leaf 50 used to pick up all of the local stations (WLOX, WXXV, PBS) at the old house (4 miles away by Google Maps) but possibly less as the crow flies. At the new house, I can get WLOX and PBS clearly, but not WXXV, even though tvfool.com shows it within the green (although looking now on tvfool, I'm not seeing either station?). Both stations are essentially due north, and I have my Leaf high in the north facing window.

This is frustrating me b/c I'd like to watch the Saints games on WXXV's Fox channel.

I've thought about swapping to an outside or attic antenna, but this is an older two story house with a vaulted ceiling in the living room. Both attic spaces are cramped to say the least.

If I do an outdoor antenna, I'd like to hook into the pre-existing splitter at the cable box (currently serving internet throughout the house). But then I'd need a dedicated internet drop on the other side of the house.

So I'm looking for any ideas or suggestions for how best to solve this issue. Anyone dealt with something like this?

Thanks!
 

vdubee

Who Dat??
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
469
Reaction score
239
Location
Youngsville, LA
Offline
Confirmed today... Nope. Can't watch the game via streaming on Vue.
Somewhat of an update on this. Last night, I tried to watch the Ravens/Dolphins game in PS Vue on the NFL Network but it did not work. However, I was able to go into our CBS All Access app and watch from our local KLFY station in the app. Just an FYI.
 

vdubee

Who Dat??
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
469
Reaction score
239
Location
Youngsville, LA
Offline
I need some help / ideas on how to handle this..

We recently moved. My Mohu Leaf 50 used to pick up all of the local stations (WLOX, WXXV, PBS) at the old house (4 miles away by Google Maps) but possibly less as the crow flies. At the new house, I can get WLOX and PBS clearly, but not WXXV, even though tvfool.com shows it within the green (although looking now on tvfool, I'm not seeing either station?). Both stations are essentially due north, and I have my Leaf high in the north facing window.

This is frustrating me b/c I'd like to watch the Saints games on WXXV's Fox channel.

I've thought about swapping to an outside or attic antenna, but this is an older two story house with a vaulted ceiling in the living room. Both attic spaces are cramped to say the least.

If I do an outdoor antenna, I'd like to hook into the pre-existing splitter at the cable box (currently serving internet throughout the house). But then I'd need a dedicated internet drop on the other side of the house.

So I'm looking for any ideas or suggestions for how best to solve this issue. Anyone dealt with something like this?

Thanks!
Just trying to understand but if you use the splitter at the cable box, you'll lose your internet? IMO, I think your best bet will be an outdoor antenna.
 

Beast

Former Camp Beast
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
12,977
Reaction score
2,467
Location
Parts Unknown
Offline
Just trying to understand but if you use the splitter at the cable box, you'll lose your internet? IMO, I think your best bet will be an outdoor antenna.
Yeah.

Right now the cable internet is coming into the box and hitting a 3 way splitter. I have cable drops in 7 rooms, and I'm fairly certain if I moved my modem, I'd have cable internet at the other drops. I know there's another splitter somewhere (probably in the attic), but I've not found it yet.

Preferably, I'd like to take the cable internet line out of the splitter and have it moved to another location, i.e. coming in the house near the room I have the modem set up currently.

Then I could hook the outside antenna into the splitter and have OTA HD in every room.
 

vdubee

Who Dat??
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
469
Reaction score
239
Location
Youngsville, LA
Offline
Yeah.

Right now the cable internet is coming into the box and hitting a 3 way splitter. I have cable drops in 7 rooms, and I'm fairly certain if I moved my modem, I'd have cable internet at the other drops. I know there's another splitter somewhere (probably in the attic), but I've not found it yet.

Preferably, I'd like to take the cable internet line out of the splitter and have it moved to another location, i.e. coming in the house near the room I have the modem set up currently.

Then I could hook the outside antenna into the splitter and have OTA HD in every room.
You can't use a wifi router from one of the internet lines and split the rest into OTA signal?
 

Beast

Former Camp Beast
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
12,977
Reaction score
2,467
Location
Parts Unknown
Offline
You can't use a wifi router from one of the internet lines and split the rest into OTA signal?
There seems to be conflicting information on whether you can have a satellite and cable internet feed going over the same coax. Some say yes, use a diplexer. Others say no.

Or are you suggesting something else? I could try using just one of the output lines from the current splitter for internet. Maybe I'll test that to see if I can get the set up I want.
 

Beast

Former Camp Beast
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Messages
12,977
Reaction score
2,467
Location
Parts Unknown
Offline
There seems to be conflicting information on whether you can have a satellite and cable internet feed going over the same coax. Some say yes, use a diplexer. Others say no.

Or are you suggesting something else? I could try using just one of the output lines from the current splitter for internet. Maybe I'll test that to see if I can get the set up I want.
[UPDATE]

Via process of elimination (using my modem), I determined how the 3 coax lines are run after the splitter in the cable box outside. I have 1 line to my office/man cave and the living room, 1 line to the master bedroom and 1 line for all of the upstairs rooms. So I must have 2 more splitters in the attics supporting the office/man cave and living room and then the rooms upstairs.

Now I have to decide if I want to put the modem/router in my master bedroom (dedicated line essentially), upstairs (4 drops with internet) or something else.

I might put it upstairs and hope for better signal propagation, even though I get pretty good signal all over as it is now. Then I can just do antennas for the TVs up there if necessary. That leaves the wall drops for carrying the OTA signal from the outside antenna.

The thing I'm hating now is that all of the cable wall drops are in bad spots for mounted TVs. The house was built in the 80s, before that sort of thing mattered.. :mad:
 

Redfish

© Geaux Saints!
VIP Contributor
Joined
Nov 2, 2000
Messages
7,816
Reaction score
1,148
Location
the 601
Offline
If you're a Roku user and subscribe to PlayStation Vue. Go into your settings and update the device to OS8. Once done and restarted, go back and select update again and the Vue app will update to the newest version. Finally, a major update that includes a new layout and guide.
 

LAhotsauce

ALL-MADDEN TEAM
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
2,529
Reaction score
3,887
Offline
Looks like Vue now has all local stations. The only one missing the past few months was Fox 8. It's there now.
 

jayd265

Fleur de LEE
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
10,327
Reaction score
6,457
Age
30
Location
Youngsville, LA
Online
what sort of HD Antenna should i buy? i'm lost and cut cable. just want the antenna for fox/cbs for football...
 

Eeyore

Sour Pennies
Joined
Aug 1, 1997
Messages
14,438
Reaction score
4,348
Age
48
Location
Ersetu
Offline
Has anybody used a location spoofer so that they could watch the Saints on YouTubeTV, Directv Now, SlingTV, etc.?

The service that I was using for sports died. I'm going to use MLB At Bat and spoof my location for baseball. I get it free with my TMobile service.

Football is a different story. My local team is the Bears. No thanks. I'd prefer to subscribe to a streaming service and spoof my location.
 

Domefan504

SR is my life!
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
15,029
Reaction score
13,031
Location
Metry/NOLA
Offline
Pluto TV not that bad. Some on the News stations is on a delay but has some pretty cool old school movie channels.

Also on digital antenna Qwest TV was added which is owned by Discovery Net. Pretty much a best of Discovery shows.

Sling still $19.99 for basic . Hopefully this does not change. They added NBA TV&League Pass.
 

tomwaits

Frontier Psychiatrist
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
14,460
Reaction score
2,545
Age
43
Location
Pflugerville, TX
Offline

bigdaddysaints

BigDaddy Has Arrived
VIP Contributor
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
6,276
Reaction score
7,834
Age
45
Location
DutchTown
Offline
Looks like Vue now has all local stations. The only one missing the past few months was Fox 8. It's there now.

I sure wish they would get all local stations for Baton Rouge. Hopefully since New Orleans is getting them, BR won't be far behind. Right now we just have CBS (channel 9). I have an Antenna, but I'd be nice to have them all on one guide.
 

bigdaddysaints

BigDaddy Has Arrived
VIP Contributor
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
6,276
Reaction score
7,834
Age
45
Location
DutchTown
Offline
what sort of HD Antenna should i buy? i'm lost and cut cable. just want the antenna for fox/cbs for football...
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017JEF126/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


I have bought 2 of these, one for me and one for my dad.
I live in Gonzales and he lives in Maurepas (Livingston Parish)
I pick up 24 local Baton Rouge Channels.
My dad picks up 30 Local Channels, some from Baton Rouge, Some from New Orleans, since he lives halfway between the 2.
It comes with the Antenna and Signal Amplifier.
It does not come with pole, so you would have to supply your own.
I highly recommend it, especially for the price. I have had mine for 2 years now and its held up. Its not heavy duty, mostly plastic, but works great.


Edit: I have both installed up pretty high, 20 - 30 foot up, so just putting it outside your window or below your house level, you may not get a very good signal.
 

Attachments

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



Saints Headlines (The Advocate)

Headlines

Top Bottom